Biography

Originally from Basel, Numa Bischof Ullmann has been the Artistic Director of the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester since 2004. Under his guidance the orchestra has become one of the leading ensembles in Switzerland. His accomplishments include expanding the orchestra, getting Chief conductor James Gaffigan to join, and positioning the orchestra internationally. He has also been responsible for establishing partnerships with CD labels and increasing the number of appearances. The orchestra’s budget has almost doubled since 2004, and today the orchestra not only performs in major cities worldwide but also produces recordings for top-class labels such as harmonia mundi and Sony BMG.

In addition to further establishing the orchestra in the region, Numa Bischof Ullmann is committed to building the orchestra’s international reputation. The orchestra has toured extensively and made guest appearances in numerous European capitals, in South America and repeatedly also in Asia.

Bischof-Ullmann adopted a new approach in terms of funding and organising this cultural institution by setting up the private «Foundation for the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester » in 2008, financed by leading Swiss entrepreneurs. This enabled the orchestra to add 20 musicians and helped secure its existence as an institution for future generations.

Under his aegis, a full-time position was created in 2006 to run the orchestra’s education programme – something that was still uncharted territory for Swiss symphony orchestras at the time. One successful product of this programme in 2014 was the Musikwagen – a mobile platform for bringing classical music to local communities.

Numa Bischof-Ullmann strongly believes in promoting new music. This has resulted in several new compositions being commissioned for the orchestra, such as the cycle Nähe Fern by Wolfgang Rihm as well as works by Sofia Gubaidulina and Thomas Adès. The 2011 premiere of Rodion Shchedrin’s concerto for piano, cello and orchestra – dedicated to Martha Argerich – remains one of his milestone achievements in the arts. He is also keen to promote young talent and has institutionalised his commitment through the Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne Award for Young Composers in collaboration with the Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne in 2010, the Arthur Waser Award in collaboration with the Arthur Waser Foundation in 2013 and the Rising Stars concert series in collaboration with the Strebi Foundation in 2016.

In addition to his work with the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester, Numa Bischof-Ullmann is also the founder and artistic director of the Zaubersee Festival – Russian Music in Lucerne, and from 2010 to 2015 he was vice president of the umbrella organisation of professional orchestras in Switzerland. In this position he initiated the Œuvres Suisses project in collaboration with Pro Helvetia, which is committed to promoting a new repertoire of contemporary Swiss orchestral works.

He is also on the board of trustees of an international beneficiary foundation, holds a position on the advisory board of Zurich Minds, is involved with another cultural foundation and has acted as a jury member at various competitions, such as the International Busoni Piano Competition in 2011 and the International Gilmore Award, USA (2011-2015).

Biografie

Der gebürtige Basler Numa Bischof Ullmann ist seit 2004 Intendant des Luzerner Sinfonieorchester. Unter seiner Leitung wurde das Orchester zu einem der führenden Schweizer Orchester. Zu seinen Errungenschaften gehören die Vergrösserung des Orchesters, das Engagement des Chefdirigenten James Gaffigan, sowie die internationale Positionierung des Klangkörpers. In seine Intendanz fallen auch der Aufbau von Partnerschaften mit CD-Labels und die Erweiterung der Anzahl Veranstaltungen. Das Budget des Orchesters hat sich seit 2004 nahezu verdoppelt. Heute tritt das Orchester in den bedeutenden Kulturmetropolen weltweit auf und produziert Aufnahmen für erstklassige Labels wie harmonia mundi oder Sony BMG.

Neben der regionalen Verankerung des Orchesters wurde unter Numa Bischof Ullmanns Leitung die internationale Positionierung des Orchesters aufgebaut und bis heute stark ausgebaut. So führte das Orchester Tourneen und Gastspiele in zahlreiche Hauptstädte Europas, nach Südamerika sowie wiederholt nach Asien durch.

Bischof Ullmann verfolgte einen neuen Ansatz in der Finanzierung und Organisation der Kulturinstitution, in dem er 2008 die private «Stiftung für das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester» gründete, die durch führende Schweizer Unternehmer finanziert wird. Dieser Ansatz ermöglichte die Erweiterung des Luzerner Sinfonieorchesters um 20 Musiker und sichert den Erhalt der Institution für weitere Generationen.

Unter seiner Ägide wurde 2006 die Vollzeitstelle für das Musikvermittlungs-Programm eingerichtet, was damals unter den Schweizer Sinfonieorchestern Neuland war. 2014 ging aus diesem Programm der Musikwagen erfolgreich hervor.

Bischof Ullmann legt einen besonderen Wert auf die Förderung der Neuen Musik. Als Resultat daraus wurden unter seiner Leitung etliche neue Kompositionen in Auftrag gegeben z.B. der Zyklus Nähe Fern von Wolfgang Rihm und Werke von Sofia Gubaidulina oder Thomas Adès. Die Uraufführung von Rodion Shchedrins neuem Konzert für Klavier, Cello und Orchester 2011, das Martha Argerich gewidmet ist, gehört zu den Meilensteinen seiner künstlerischen Erfolge. Als zweitem Schwerpunkt widmet er sich der Förderung junger Talente, institutionalisiert durch den Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne Award for Young Composers in Zusammenarbeit mit der Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne 2010, des Arthur Waser Preises in Zusammenarbeit mit der Arthur Waser Stiftung 2013 und der Konzertreihe Rising Stars in Zusammenarbeit mit der Strebi Stifung 2016.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit beim Luzerner Sinfonieorchester ist Numa Bischof Ullmann Gründer und Künstlerischer Leiter des Festival Zaubersee – Tage Russischer Musik in Luzern, und war von 2010 bis 2015 Vizepräsident des Dachverbandes der Schweizerischen Berufsorchester. In dieser Funktion hat er das Projekt Œuvres Suisse in Zusammenarbeit mit Pro Helvetia angeregt, das ein neues Repertoire an zeitgenössischen Schweizer Orchesterwerken fördert.

Ausserdem ist er im Stiftungsrat einer internationalen Förderstiftung, wirkt im Advisory Board von Zurich Minds sowie einer weiteren Kulturstiftung mit und engagierte sich in Jurys bei diversen Wettbewerben, z.B. beim Internationalen Busoni Klavier Wettbewerb 2011 oder dem International Gilmore Award, USA (2011-2015).