1805 to the present
Luzerner Sinfonieorchester around 1939
Chief Conductor Max Sturzenegger

At its very first performances back in 1806, the orchestra consisted of a handful of music lovers who brought their full enthusiasm to the works of Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven. Concerts were well attended, and anyone living in Lucerne at the time would put on their best garb before heading to the Comödiensaal der Jesuiten, as the concert hall was called at the time. While this was some 210 years ago, the Lucerne Symphony Orchestra has since grown and established itself continuously and is known as the oldest orchestra in Switzerland today.

While its early performances may well have sounded rather outlandish to the modern ear, anyone attending a concert in Lucerne today is bound to hear Haydn at his classical best – performed by an authentic, reduced orchestra with eight first violins, eight second violins, four violas, four cellos, and two double basses. Rather than being dominated by elderly gentlemen, the orchestra is now a young and diversified body that can often be heard delving into contemporary works, possibly with timpani and trumpets. At other times, it performs with young or established soloists, accompanying them with due sensitivity through brilliantly forceful or tenderly calm passages. And anyone wondering at the distinct sound, perhaps in Baroque style, resonating from the orchestra pit at the Luzerner Theater will be pleased to know that this, too, is the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester in another form.

While many orchestras, especially those elsewhere in Switzerland, may worry about their survival, the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester continues on its growth trajectory. Moreover, the new auditorium at the KKL has energised musicians, conductor and administration alike to pursue their artistic endeavours with a distinct creative verve – and audiences are paying close attention in every respect. It is becoming increasingly clear that alongside the Lucerne Festival, the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester is now a driving force in the city’s musical scene that is here to stay.

– Peter Hagmann, music critic of Neue Zürcher Zeitung (2009)

What started out as the city's music society with some two dozen amateur players has since grown into a remarkable ensemble of around seventy seasoned professionals, led by a young and ambitious conductor, all eager to tackle even the most challenging works of the repertoire. By now the orchestra has built a reputation far beyond the Lucerne region, be it through exquisite CD recordings, guest appearances or tours in Europe and abroad.

lso_17_pr_2889_-vera-hartmann
Luzerner Sinfonieorchester 2017
Chief conductor: James Gaffigan

Chief conductors

  • Willem Mengelberg (1892–1895)
  • Max Sturzenegger (1939–1960)
  • Ulrich Meyer-Schoellkopf (1972–1990)
  • Marcello Viotti (1987–1992)
  • Olaf Henzold (1992–1997)
  • Jonathan Nott (1997–2002)
  • Christian Arming (2002–2004)
  • John Axelrod (2004–2009)
  • James Gaffigan (since 2011)

1805 bis heute
Luzerner Sinfonieorchester um 1939
Chefdirigent Max Sturzenegger

Bei seinen allerersten Auftritten im Jahr 1806 bestand das Orchester aus einer handvoll Musikliebhabern, die mit viel Begeisterung Haydn, Mozart und Beethoven spielten. Von Anfang an waren die Konzerte gut besucht und wer in Luzern wohnte, machte sich fein und ging hin in den «Comödiensaal der Jesuiten». Das war vor mehr als 200 Jahren. Damit ist das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester das älteste Orchester der Schweiz.

Man kann davon ausgehen, dass diese Konzerte abenteuerlich geklungen haben. Wenn man heute indes für ein Konzert nach Luzern geht, dann kann man sicher sein, dass man einen mustergültigen, einen klassisch-klassischen Haydn zu hören bekommt: Acht – acht – vier – vier – zwei. Man sieht das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester in kleiner Besetzung. Man weiss, dass man nicht lauter alte Herren, sondern ein junges, ein gut durchmischtes Orchester erlebt, das eben ein neues Werk aus der Taufe hebt, mit Pauken und Trompeten. Oder aber dass man ein Orchester hören wird, das sowohl junge Solistinnen wie berühmte Solisten gleichermassen beweglich und gelassen zu begleiten weiss. Und wer sich im Luzerner Theater wundert, wie plötzlich anders, wie barock es aus dem Graben klingt – auch das ist das Luzerner Sinfonieorchester.

Während andernorts, und gerade auch in der Schweiz, Orchester um ihr Überleben bangen müssen, geht es mit dem Luzerner Sinfonieorchester kontinuierlich aufwärts. Der neue Saal im KKL hat Kräfte freigesetzt, die von den Musikern, dem leitenden Dirigenten und der Administration in ausgesprochen kreativer Weise genutzt werden – und das Publikum hat das gemerkt. Immer deutlicher wird: Musik in Luzern, das ist nicht nur mit Lucerne Festival, das ist immer mehr auch mit dem Luzerner Sinfonieorchester verbunden.

– Peter Hagmann, Musikkritiker der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung (2009)

Aus einer städtischen Musikliebhabergesellschaft mit anfänglich zwei Dutzend Leuten ist heute ein bemerkenswerter Klangkörper von rund siebzig Musikern und Musikerinnen geworden, der mit jungen und ehrgeizigen Dirigenten anspruchsvolle Projekte realisiert. Und der mittlerweile weit über Luzern hinaus von sich reden macht: sei es mit seinen exquisiten CD-Produktionen, oder mit Gastspielen und Tourneen im nahen und fernen Ausland.

lso_17_pr_2889_-vera-hartmann
Luzerner Sinfonieorchester 2017
Chefdirigent: James Gaffigan

Chefdirigenten

  • Willem Mengelberg (1892–1895)
  • Max Sturzenegger (1939–1960)
  • Ulrich Meyer-Schoellkopf (1972–1990)
  • Marcello Viotti (1987–1992)
  • Olaf Henzold (1992–1997)
  • Jonathan Nott (1997–2002)
  • Christian Arming (2002–2004)
  • John Axelrod (2004–2009)
  • James Gaffigan (seit 2011)